My divided heart

Claire Hake

"Looking back, it seems that I have lived seven lives: the first was my sheltered childhood in Switzerland. Then it was time to break out of the confines of a small town into the world, to Sumatra, where I got to encounter the most important person of this life and to taste with him the joys and sorrows of a planter couple. In 1940, our world came tumbling down, and my third life in captivity in Indonesia began. My fourth life was spent in Japan and Shanghai, followed by my coming home and long-awaited reunion, a modest new beginning on ruins; my fifth life in Hamburg. Number six was our common agedness, a quiet, peaceful time of contemplation, which ended so abruptly with our moving into the retirement home and the farewell of my beloved Gustel. My last and seventh life as a widow is a life of retrospection and sorting. Perhaps the reason why I’m writing down the story of my life."

In the mid-twenties, the young Swiss woman Claire Hake travels alone to Sumatra and meets her great love Gustav, a German planter, on a secluded tobacco plantation in the middle of the jungle.

Claire and Gustav marry. Their life on the plantation is one of destitution, but also joy - until war breaks out in far away Europe. When the Wehrmacht invades Holland in 1940, incredible scenes play out in the Dutch colony. Germans are abused, humiliated, and Claire is also affected. She is separated from Gustav and detained. It is not until seven years after captivity in an Indonesian camp and in Shanghai that Claire succeeds in making her way through to Switzerland. Upon receiving the news that her husband had survived the camp, there is no stopping her; Claire sets out to finally embrace Gustav again.

After Gustav's death and at the age of 83, Claire begins to put her life and her love story to paper, leaving her granddaughter Nicoline an old suitcase full of manuscripts and photos.

More releases

  • Mein geteiltes Herz
    Claire Hake

[Ariadne-Buch] works with authors, publishers and film companies from across the world to create non-fiction and biographical bestsellers. Our offices are located at Asamstrasse 4, 81541 Munich, Germany. Founded in 1991 by Managing Director Christine Proske, the agency has since developed into a global professional network. To get in touch, please call +49 (0) 89 / 444 490 - 0 or email

Mein geteiltes Herz

Claire Hake

«Wenn ich zurückschaue, so ist mir, als hätte ich sieben Leben gelebt: Das erste war meine behütete Kindheit in der Schweiz. Dann ging es hinaus aus der Enge in die Welt, auf nach Sumatra, wo ich dem wichtigsten Menschen dieses Lebens begegnen durfte und mit ihm die Freuden und Leiden eines Pflanzerehepaars zu kosten bekam. 1940 stürzte der Himmel für uns ein, und mein drittes Leben in Gefangenschaft in Indonesien begann. Mein viertes Leben verbrachte ich in Japan und Shanghai, danach folgten die Heimkehr und das ersehnte Wiedersehen, aber ein bescheidener Neubeginn auf Trümmern, mein fünftes Leben in Hamburg. Nummer sechs war unser gemeinsames Alter, eine stille, friedvolle Zeit der Einkehr, die so jäh mit dem Einzug ins Altersheim und dem Abschied von meinem geliebten Gustel endete. Mein letztes und siebtes Leben als Witwe ist ein Leben des Rückblickes und des Richtens. Vielleicht schreibe ich auch deshalb Lebensgeschichte auf.»

Mitte der zwanziger Jahre reist die junge Schweizerin Claire Hake allein nach Sumatra und begegnet auf einer abgeschiedenen Tabakplantage inmitten des Urwalds ihrer großen Liebe Gustav, einem deutschen Pflanzer.

Claire und Gustav heiraten; ihr Leben auf der Plantage ist zwar entbehrungsreich, aber glücklich – bis im weit entfernten Europa der Krieg ausbricht. Als die Wehrmacht 1940 in Holland einfällt, kommt es zu unglaublichen Szenen in der holländischen Kolonie. Die Deutschen werden beschimpft, gedemütigt, und auch Claire ist betroffen. Sie wird von Gustav getrennt und interniert. Erst nach sieben Jahren in einem indonesischen Lager und in Shanghai gelingt es Claire, sich in die Schweiz durchzuschlagen. Als sie die Nachricht erhält, dass auch ihr Mann das Lager überlebt hat, gibt es für Claire kein Halten: Sie macht sich auf, um Gustav endlich wieder in die Arme zu schließen.

Nach Gustavs Tod, mit 83 Jahren, beginnt Claire, ihr Leben und ihre Liebesgeschichte aufzuschreiben. Ihrer Enkelin Nicoline hinterlässt sie einen alten Koffer voller Manuskripte und Fotos.

[Ariadne-Buch] ist Partner für internationale Autoren, Verlage und Filmproduktionen. Die Agentur konzipiert und realisiert Bestseller im Bereich Sachbuch und Biografien. Ihre Geschäftsräume befinden sich in der Asamstraße 4 in 81541 München. Die Geschäftsführerin Christine Proske gründete das Unternehmen 1991 und hat seither ein weltweites Netzwerk geknüpft. Zu erreichen ist die Agentur unter Telefon +49 (0) 89 / 444 490 - 0 oder E-Mail info@ariadne-buch.de.